Inflammatory markers and mental illness

Have you heard this programme? What did you think? Someone recommended it to me, and I’m glad they did. I’ve popped the link below, as it was a bit hard to find!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b07pj2pw

I was listening to this with a toddler running around and screaming, so I did miss bits! But I will try to sum this programme up shortly, it says that the immune system attacking the body, can cause mental illness, depression psychosis, etc. It’s not the reason for everyone with mental illness, but it is for some, particularly those who haven’t responded well to medications. It seemed a bit one sided, as they had no one disagreeing with it (maybe no one does!) and they didn’t speak about possible side effects. 

I think this is really exciting, there hasn’t been any major breakthroughs for the treatment of mental illness in a really really long time. I know there is research going on, I volunteered for a study into bipolar – they couldn’t use me as I wasn’t English enough! But it’s good this research is taking place.

This immunology treatment for some people with mental illness is promising sounding. This has the potential to drastically change people’s lives.

One of the women on the programme was saying that this could change stigma relating to depression. If it’s seen as potentially a physical illness, that is probably going to change people’s perception of the disorder. I would imagine only in a good way, as people seem to relate better to physical then mental illness, aswell as taking it more seriously.

I thought it was incredibly interesting and hopeful!  If you listened to it, let me know what you think. 

Image from draxe.com

Join me on Facebook and Twitter

Leave a Reply

