To bare or not to bare!

My hair journey and why I’m going more ‘au natural’. I still ‘tidy up’ but it’s wonderful to stress less about keeping it perfectly hair free. And it takes less time which is great as every minute counts as a self employed mommy of a 2 year old!

First up I hate that women get judged for how we style our vaginas. Surely we should be able to do what we like down there, and not be judged for it, whatever style we chose!

I always chose to be bare down there. Not a hair in sight. I trained as a dancer, and in my opinion pubes and dance didn’t mix, I couldn’t think of anything more embarrassing then a stray pube poking out from behind a leotard! And whilst this was ultimately practical, painful and irritating, but practical! I also thought that no one would want to have sex with me if I wasn’t bare.

When I had my daughter, that changed. When I was pregnant there was no way I could tidy up down there, I was huge, and I was really excited to be more bare again after she arrived!

However when she did arrive I gave it a bit more thought. I don’t want my daughter to be afraid or disgusted or ashamed when she hits puberty. I don’t want pubic hair to be abnormal to her. Puberty is already traumatic enough and if she only sees bare women surely that would make the changes to her body more scary? She can ultimately choose to do whatever she likes, but I don’t want her to feel like she has to, that it’s cleaner to go bare, or that men will only find her attractive if she goes bare. Her dad finds me attractive whatever goes on down there! He doesn’t mind if I’m bare or if I look like a baby fox has taken up residence between my legs (yes the carpet does match the curtains. Disturbingly the most common question I get asked as a red head!!) Hell I could shape it into a Minnie Mouse silhouette and dye it blue and he would still think I was gorgeous! She will see us being affectionate towards each other, and she will see me naked – at least while she’s little! She may never put them together but maybe subconsciously she won’t end up with the warped thought that a sexual partner can only find you attractive if you are totally hairless.

So here’s to hoping my daughter won’t be scared of her changing body when she gets there, and that she won’t change how she feels comfortable just to please a man or woman! However she chooses to style herself I want her to be comfortable and confident in herself.

 

Follow me on Facebook and Twitter!

Diary of an imperfect mum
Modern Dad Pages
Twin Mummy and Daddy

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Hmmm…that’s a really interesting perspective. I never thought of the daughter thing. Thanks for bringing a new idea to this topic that people rarely discuss.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou. I’d never given it much thought before I had my daughter!

      Like

  2. Funny and thoughtprovoking post – I’m a redhead too 🙂 #ablogginggoodtime

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Redheads are the best, lol I may be slightly biased though 😊 thankyou for reading and commenting

      Like

  3. I also go bare. I just prefer it to be soft and tidy lol. I remember being pregnant with my son and didn’t even attempt to groom down there. It drove me crazy and was such a relief to shave after he arrived as well! It’s a personal choice. Dye your pubes blue if you want, ladies! LMAO. Thanks for sharing 🙂
    #StayClassyMama

    Liked by 1 person

  4. webmdiva says:

    I look at it all like a haircut. Some people like long locks, some like to shave their heads. It also seems to be much like fashion…one-minute natural is in, the next it’s out. By the time your daughter is old enough dying it blue and shaping it like a shoe could be a thing. LOL. #stayclassymama

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Thankyou so much for reading and commenting

      Like

  5. I’ve thought about this and I wrote a post on the subject a while back. I do wonder how my girls perceive my body and what kind of impact, if any, it would have on them when they’re older. Thanks for linking up to #ThatFridayLinky

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definately think it’s something worth thinking about! I’ll have to go find your old post to read. Thanks for reading and commenting 😊

      Like

  6. Topfivemum says:

    Anything that saves time is good for me! I also remember the pregnancy days and being unable to even see down there, never mind do any ‘gardening’. Good on you for sharing your daughter to be confident in her body. #abloggingoodtime

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Saving time is always good! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  7. Totally agree! I have a son but if I ever have a daughter (maybe we will see how this goes) then I would want her to feel comfortable in her own skin however that may look publicly or privately : ). Thanks for sharing with #stayclassymama!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

